A Taste of Fall – Apple Pie Bread

Fall won’t be around for much longer in Denver. It’s already snowing inches in the mountains and the threat is coming closer and closer to the city.
So I suppose I better start in on the fall dishes before my small window of fall closes for the winter.
Is this a beautiful loaf of bread or is this a beautiful loaf of bread?
I mean really, I didn’t expect it to look this gorgeous. Oh, and the smell? Devastatingly delicious. You’re whole house will smell like fall. It’s fabulous.
I am going to keep my ranting and raving short and sweet today to wrap up the week (mostly because I am too exhausted from playing with birthday presents to think…. or to focus on anything else…). Thankfully I have family and friends with crazy schedules so my birthday celebrations start before my actual birthday and end way after. 🙂 How did I get so lucky?? It’s like the universe is openly recognizing that my birthday should last the entire month of October – well up until Halloween of course.
Is anyone dressing up for Halloween this year? What are you going to be? I am seriously struggling with my costume selection so I need ideas. Or else I will have to repeat a previous costume. From what I have heard, this is totally NOT ok to do… Maybe I should just stay in like an actual grown-up…
Do you see my inner struggle?? HELP.

Apple Pie Bread 

For the Bread:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons homemade apple pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups shredded, peeled apple (about 4 medium or 2 large) (see note below)
3/4 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup dried cranberries

For the Streusel Topping:

1/4 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon homemade apple pie spice
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/3 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray; set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or in a large bowl with an electric mixer, beat the butter on medium-high speed for about 30 seconds. Add in sugars and mix until well combined. Add buttermilk and baking powder; beat until combined. Add eggs and vanilla; beat until thoroughly incorporated. In a medium bowl, combine flour, apple pie spice and salt, whisk until combined. Slowly add the flour mixture to the bowl and mix on low-speed until just incorporated. Fold in apples, pecans and cranberries.

Spoon batter into prepared pan; spread evenly. Prepare the Streusel Topping.

In a small bowl, combine brown sugar, flour and apple pie spice. Using a pastry blender, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in pecans. Spoon Streusel Topping over the batter, pressing them gently into the batter.

Bake for 60 to 65 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan. Cool completely on wire rack. Wrap and store overnight before slicing.

*Recipe from My Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

