Roasted Lemon Garlic Herb Shrimp & Pasta

It’s getting chilly here in Denver….
Per my usual habits, I turn indoors at the first sign of a cold streak and thus the trips to the store on weekends become few and far between. So the challenge of making something new and different becomes even more difficult…
So I went to the good ol’ lemon and garlic combo that I know and love.
I have never tried roasting shrimp before and this is the perfect time of year to heat up my house with my oven.
Have I mentioned that my hubby likes to keep the house extremely cold, even during the winter? He is one of those guys that is always hot and complains about how I radiate heat in the middle of the night and thus force him to retreat to the other side of the bed just to be cool. Though his retreat to the other side of the bed might be due to the fact my puppy and I have completely taken over the bed at this point. I can’t help it. I didn’t know she was going to get that big. And no, she cannot sleep on the floor. She is my leg heater. I need her.
I should probably stop giving you these little insightful gems into my everyday life huh? I think I am starting to scare some of you away…
So…. these shrimp. They are pretty awesome. Just the right amount of citrus without making your face go into that sour expression. Plus when the weather is like it is here in Denver, you never know when the next summery day is around the corner. So be prepared with these bad boys.
You’ll thank me later.

Roasted Lemon Garlic Herb Shrimp & Pasta 

Ingredients:

1/4 cup olive oil
1 lemon, zested then half cut into thin slices and other half into wedges
3-4 fresh thyme sprigs, leaves removed
sea or kosher salt and fresh black pepper
Spaghetti for serving
2 tablespoons butter
1 pound fresh shrimp, medium-sized, deveined with tails off
5 cloves garlic, minced
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In an 8×8 glass baking pan combine olive oil, lemon zest and thyme. Olive oil should liberally cover the bottom of the pan, if it doesn’t drizzle in a little more. Season with salt and pepper. Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes, checking every few minutes, if it looks like it is getting too brown remove and proceed to next step. Meanwhile cook pasta, drain and toss with a pat of butter or olive oil.
Remove pan from oven, add butter and move it around a little to melt, add shrimp, garlic and the thin sliced lemons (don’t squeeze them), toss to coat with oil mixture. Bake for 8-10 more minutes or until shrimp turn pink and just start to curl, check often. Serve over pasta, couscous or rice tossed with additional extra-virgin olive oil and fresh-squeezed lemon with additional lemon wedges for serving.
One thought on “Roasted Lemon Garlic Herb Shrimp & Pasta

Leave a Reply

