Grilled Peaches – Part Two of Peach Week

So apparently this is the week of peaches in my house. Though really it started with one whole day of peach recipes and was quickly followed by a week of continuing obsession.

Again, restraint is not high on my list of priorities when it comes to food. Especially goat cheese…..

I never even thought to combine goat cheese and peaches before. I was just thinking about my favorite things and decided to put them on bread. Grilled bread. I love grilling things. Especially fruit. Those charred marks in fruit look ridiculously out-of-place at times. It makes me feel like I am going against the man-meat grilling dream team which makes me giggle.

Please stop rolling your eyes at me.

Oh but on a completely unrelated note, I do have to share some exciting news with you. I made the unbelievably awesome choice to attend the Denver Food and Wine Classic tomorrow! I will indulge in 600 wines (ok we know I won’t try ALL of them), 50 spirits (again if I did actually try all these my face would be getting real familiar with the floor), 35 restaurants(not eating before, gotta make room) and watch a butcher from Italy tell me all about the wonders of meat. So if you don’t follow me on Instagram (timeforrenewal) or Twitter – do it before tomorrow afternoon to follow the fun!!

Grilled Peach and Goat Cheese Crostini

Ingredients:

8 slices French bread

3 tablespoons light olive oil

2 large peaches, each cut into 6 slices

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 ounces goat cheese

Brush the oil on both sides of each slice of bread. Grill them for 3 minutes on each side, until they are light, golden brown. Set aside the toasts.

Toss the slices peaches with the lemon juice and then grill them for 3 minutes on each side, until they have light brown grill marks. Stir the brown sugar and ground cinnamon together and then gently toss the grilled peaches in the brown sugar mixture.

Spread the goat cheese on the toasted crostini and top each of them with 2 or 3 slices of the sugared, grilled peaches.

Leave a Reply

