The Easiest Strawberry Tart You’ll Ever Make

Oh yes, you read that right. This is a recipe for the easiest strawberry tart I have ever seen. I’m not kidding. It is as simple as putting strawberries on dough, putting the dough in the over, whipping cream, and taking the tart out of the oven. As this was Part Two of the massive dinner I made, it was the best way to wrap up the evening, particularly because I slapped it together in a mere 15 minutes and it tasted wonderful.
Despite its simplicity it is light, not too sweet, and  makes me drool every time I think about it. To put it simply it was the best way to end the epic meal that preceded it, even when I drowned my piece in fresh vanilla whipped cream…
Yes, I added the whipped cream vodka to the whipped cream.
No, I can’t reasonably explain why I adore whipped cream vodka. Just know that it is amazing in whipped cream. And when mixed with coke. I know that may sound crazy but it TRY IT. It tastes like vanilla coke and reminds me of the times my mom gave me vanilla coke as a kid, except with booze.
Ok I’ll stop the cocktail fantasies now and give you the recipe…

Puff Pastry Strawberry Tart (from Camilla Salem, YumSugar)

Ingredients

Butter for greasing
1 sheet of frozen puff pastry, thawed
1 1/2 cups of strawberries, sliced
1/2 teaspoon plus 1 teaspoon granulated sugar, divided
1 cup whipping cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Powdered sugar

Preheat your oven to 350° F.

Place your puff pastry on a baking sheet that has been greased with butter.

Neatly arrange strawberries over puff pastry, leaving 1/2 inch of crust around the edges. Dust with 1/2 teaspoon of granulated sugar.

Bake the tart for about 15 or 20 minutes or until the crust begins to turn golden brown and the juices from the strawberries begin to seep out.

While the tart is baking, in the bowl of a stand mixer (or just a large bowl if you’re using a hand mixer), add whipping cream, vanilla, and 1 teaspoon of granulated sugar. Whisk until stiff peaks begin to form.

Remove tart from oven and dust with powdered sugar while still hot. Slice up and serve with a dollop of whipped cream (vanilla whipped cream vodka whipped cream if you have it 🙂 ).

One thought on “The Easiest Strawberry Tart You’ll Ever Make

  1. Pingback: Steak and Potatoes with Flair « Time for Renewal

Leave a Reply

