Dessert for Breakfast – Maple Bacon Ice Cream

So lately I have been craving ice cream.

Not just any ice cream.

Maple Bacon Ice Cream.

I am pretty sure the idea came to mind in my breakfast sugar withdrawal state.

I have never had maple bacon ice cream. I have never even heard of maple bacon ice cream. Yet somehow the idea crawled into my subconscious and set up camp. Before I knew it I was searching for a recipe and adding the ingredients to my cart as I shopped for groceries. It was as if the universe was guiding me to discover this delectable treat. Oh how grateful I am that it did…

Some of you may think I am insane, but this ice cream is a dream come true. The maple ice cream isn’t overly sweet and the candied bacon adds a crunchy salty sweetness that is out if this world. If you doubt me, just try it. It will change your opinion of ice cream forever.

Think like Nike.

Just.

Do.

It.

Maple Bacon Ice Cream (from Claire Robinson)

Ingredients:

1 cup grade B maple syrup

4 cups half-and-half

1 ½ cups granulated sugar, divided

5 egg yolks

½ lb thick-cut bacon (about 6 slices)

In a medium saucepan over moderate heat, reduce the maple syrup to 1/2 cup. Set aside.

Over moderate heat in a medium saucepan, heat the half-and-half with 1/2 cup sugar until hot and just bubbling around the edges.

In a medium bowl, whisk the yolks with 1/2 cup sugar, then add 1 cup hot half-and-half mixture in a slow stream, whisking constantly. Pour the whole egg mixture back into the saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until the mixture coats the back of the spoon and registers 170 degrees F on a thermometer. Do not let boil. Pour the mixture through a fine mesh sieve into a medium bowl and whisk in the maple syrup. Cover with parchment paper letting the paper touch the surface of the mixture, to prevent a skin from forming. Chill the mixture until very cold, at least 6 hours and up to overnight.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Line a rimmed sheet pan with heavy foil. Place a baking rack over the lined sheet pan and arrange the bacon slices across the rack next to each other. Bake until crispy, about 15 minutes. When cool enough to handle, finely chop.

Line a sheet pan with parchment paper and set aside. Place the remaining 1/2 cup sugar in the saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring with a fork, until the sugar starts to melt. Stop stirring and cook until the sugar is a golden caramel color, about 10 minutes. Add the bacon and stir to coat. Pour onto prepared baking sheet and let harden. Chop the candied bacon into small pieces.

Freeze the custard in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions, 20 to 30 minutes and at the last minute, add the candied bacon and let churn until just combined. Transfer to an airtight container and freeze.

My beautiful KitchenAid 🙂 Back and better than ever!

9 thoughts on “Dessert for Breakfast – Maple Bacon Ice Cream

  1. Yum! I notice that you’re using a KitchenAid – I just put one on our registry! If we get one, this will be one of my first experiments – just sounds so tasty!

    • I am so in love with my KitchenAid! You should add all the attachments to your registry too! I can’t wait to get my hands on the pasta making set.

      Oh little tip, make sure the metal circle on the front is screwed in completely before you start mixing… lol

  2. Um, I didn’t realize that kitchen aids came with an ice cream maker attachment. NOTED.

    I have an ice cream maker and I’ve only used it to make frozen greek yogurt. However … maybe I will make this. I’m not a fan of maple, but bacon — I am a fan of that.

  3. I did not know there was an ice cream maker option for my KitchenAid…just when I thought I couldn’t love that thing more! Now I have to have it, just to try out this ice cream, it sounds amazing!

  4. Pingback: Interview with Meghan Bassett of Buried Truths | | Blogging FearlesslyBlogging Fearlessly

  5. Pingback: Staying Healthy with Core Power « Time for Renewal

  6. Pingback: Back to the Kitchen – Shrimp and Bacon Risotto « Time for Renewal

  7. Pingback: August Things « Time for Renewal

Leave a Reply

