Cinco de Mayo Enchilada Bake!

There have been two packs of crescent rolls looming in my fridge for a couple weeks. Actually, I believe it has been several weeks now that I think about it. Every time I reached into the fridge I would see them and every time a little voice in my head would sing “You better use those or else they are going to expire and that’s money down the drain. You don’t want to waste food do you?”

Of course simply making crescent rolls is not enough for me. BORING. I needed to find a different use for these flaky rolls. As I perused recipes (my go-to procrastination technique), I found an Easy Enchilada Bake using crescent rolls. This intrigued me for two reasons (I would love to say one of them was that Cinco de Mayo is this weekend but I didn’t realize this until I started writing the following day). One, I have never made enchiladas and have always wanted to try. Second, enchiladas with crescent rolls? Hmmmm this could either be terrible or the best discovery ever. I had to find out which one it was. To go through life and not know whether this recipe is any good? I wouldn’t be able to live with myself.

The recipe calls for canned enchilada sauce, to which I immediately said “Ha! Enchilada sauce from a can?! No way buddy! If I am going to venture outside of my comfort zone to make enchiladas, I am making the sauce from scratch.”

Good decision – it was absolutely wonderful.

Since I am cooking this in the middle of the week, I went for the Easy Enchilada Sauce recipe I found. It was very easy (despite the moment where both the sauce and the water started to boil over at the same moment) and the end product was delicious (definitely one to make again). By the grace of the universe I managed to keep enchilada sauce off my white shirt (I know, not the smartest decision to wear while cooking. I really should know better considering my track record) so this is another win in my book.

Easy Enchilada Bake (from Pillsbury)

Ingredients:

2 cups shredded cooked chicken

10 oz Easy Enchilada Sauce, recipe below (or more, I used a bunch more…)

2 cans (8 oz each) Pillsbury refrigerated crescent dinner rolls

1 ¼ cups shredded Mexican cheese

In a 2-quart saucepan, mix chicken and ½ cup of the enchilada sauce (I found that using ¾ cup turned out better). Heat to boiling over medium high heat, stirring occasionally.

Separate or cut each can of dough into 4 rectangles (press perforations to seal). Spoon chicken mixture and 1 tablespoon of cheese onto 1 long side of each rectangle.

Roll up; pinch edges to seal. Place seam side down in 13×9 inch glass baking dish. Pour remaining sauce over enchiladas, and sprinkle with remaining cheese.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Add additional enchilada sauce as you like. Note: I added a LOT more enchilada sauce than the recipe asks for. My hubby loves the sauce so I couldn’t argue when he asked me to add more. 🙂

Easy Enchilada Sauce (from Emeril Lagasse)

Ingredients

3 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp flour

¼ cup chili powder

2 cups chicken stock

10 oz tomato paste

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp ground cumin

½ tsp salt

In a medium saucepan heat oil, add flour, smoothing and stirring with a wooden spoon. Cook for 1 minute. Add chili powder and cook for 30 seconds. Add stock, tomato paste, oregano, and cumin. Stir to combine. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cook for 15 minutes. The sauce will thicken and smooth out.

I plan to make this enchilada sauce and freeze it so next time all I have to do is cook the chicken, assemble the enchiladas, and bake. Ah foresight, I knew you existed in my brain somewhere!

Just so you know, I’ll be disappearing for a few days to the BLEND retreat (woo hoo!), but look for something fun early next week! Enjoy your weekend!!

One thought on “Cinco de Mayo Enchilada Bake!

Leave a Reply

