A Rant and a Quick Weeknight Pasta

There aren’t enough hours in the day. I am quite literally bouncing from project to project every day, ALL DAY LONG. My head is spinning and I just can’t seem to focus (I suppose that isn’t anything new though…). I am diligently researching and writing, trying to get Buried Truths up and running.

Do you know how much goes into building a site? It’s a lot. The best part is the initial writing and building and trying to understand why the hell the font is black when the background is black and changing it white seems like the most ridiculous task in the world because I am not 100% familiar with HTML and I feel like I want to strangle my computer. And then it magically fixes itself. What?!?! *sigh*

I have been getting overwhelmed fairly quickly with this project so when I need a break I have been turning to cooking. Primarily, it’s a way to clear my head, but it’s also because I know I won’t be posting anything for the next few days since I am headed out of town and will be on the road for two days straight. Road trip through the midwest! Woo hoo!

I am a total carb freak so aside from bread, pasta is my ultimate comfort food. I can’t live without it. Cutting carbs to lose weight? Haha yea right, I would rather exercise for 5 hours straight than give up my pasta. So surprise! I have another pasta dish for you! It is SO easy and quick (exactly what I needed this week as I tried to plow through pages of reading and writing), PLUS it isn’t too heavy on the calories (Winning! Wow I can’t believe I just said that…). Let’s move past my momentary Charlie Sheen lapse to the recipe, shall we?

 

Spaghetti with Sautéed Chicken and Grape Tomatoes (from Gina’s Skinny Recipes)

Servings: 4

Ingredients:

  • 2 skinless chicken breast halves, diced in 1 inch cubes
  • cooking spray
  • 1/2 tsp each of dried oregano and dries basil
  • kosher salt and fresh pepper
  • 8 oz spaghetti (high fiber or low carb)
  • 2 cups grape tomatoes, halved
  • 6 cloves garlic, smashed and coarsely chopped
  • 4 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 tbsp chopped fresh basil

Directions:

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil.

Season chicken generously with salt, pepper, oregano and basil. Heat a large skillet on high heat. When hot, spray with oil and add chicken. Cook about 3-4 minutes, until no longer pink. Remove chicken and set aside.

Add pasta and cook according to package directions. Reserve about 1/2 cup pasta water before draining.

While pasta cooks, add olive oil to skillet on high heat. Add garlic and sauté until golden brown (do not burn). Add tomatoes, salt and pepper and reduce heat to medium-low. Sauté about 4-5 minutes. When pasta is drained, add pasta to tomatoes and toss well. If pasta seems too dry, add some of the reserved pasta water. Add fresh basil and chicken and toss well. Serve and top with good grated cheese.

Leave a Reply

