Confessions of an Addict

I think I have a problem. I hate to admit it, but I am pretty sure I have an addiction. I… am a food addict. That’s right, I am a full-blown junkie (I can hear the women fainting and the men hiding their children already). I can’t seem to kick the habit (though kicking the habit would result in my starving to death so I  can never really go cold turkey). I suppose you are wondering what the extent of my addiction really is. It’s not that I am 300 lbs and can’t stop putting food in my mouth. I like to think my addiction is a little more refined than that. My addiction revolves around anything food-related. Every day I pour through recipes, searching for something new to try. If you come to my house on any random night, 90% of the time i am watching some show about food (i don’t know how i ever survived without Food Network). I already have shelves filled with cookbooks but that doesn’t stop me from compulsively rifling through magazines and scouring the internet for anything new. Whenever my husband hands me the new Food & Wine magazine, I squeal with excitement like a giddy schoolgirl and then I’m lost for hours to the pages and pictures of deliciousness.

For me, there’s nothing like discovering new flavors and savoring old favorites. No feeling can compare to taking that first bite of something absolutely delectable. For example, the first time I made a caramel pie… After cutting my first piece and taking a bite of that sinfully sweet caramel, covered with a layer of homemade whipped cream, held in a crunchy graham cracker crust… I think I might have blacked out. Or when I savored the first bite of duck I ever tasted topped with a berry balsamic glaze gently resting on sweet potato goat cheese puree and roasted root vegetables (oh yes, I married a man who can cook. You’re jealous, I know). Food isn’t just a simple combination of flavors. It is edible art. The creativity that is required to invent a new dish, to combine flavors one would never think to combine and make it taste wonderful, is absolutely fascinating to me. Who would think of combining something savory such as goat cheese and something sweet like dates? Whoever did is gifted, particularly the person who decided it would be a good idea to wrap in all in bacon… YUM.

Food is… an experience. Something as simple as a PB&J sandwich can evoke memories of picnic lunches or school cafeterias. When I bite into a sandwich made with spicy sliced turkey and American cheese, I am transported back to freshman year of high school where I would eat lunch with my friends on the sidewalk outside the Fine Arts building. When I smell fresh pizza dough, my mind wanders to Rome and all the pizza shops I would pass every day as I walked the cobblestone streets. Just like a song, food can have it’s own melody that can surprise you in ways you never expected (I am reminded of that scene in Ratatouille when Remy describes how different foods have their own melody :)).

My addiction may seem strange to many of you. I really can’t help it. Food is such a simple, basic thing yet it can be transformed and elevated to a whole other universe of complexity. In my quest to revive and renew my life, I am going to expand my palate and start pursuing new flavors and styles of cooking. Therefore, I am expanding this blog. Don’t worry, it will still be a landing for my sporadic brain dumps and occasional philosophical gems of wisdom (I know, I might be stretching it a bit with that last one…). But I am going to start another section dedicated to my uncontrollable love affair with food. Why, you ask? Well, this is where the real beauty of this whole project comes in. Because I CAN. Yes folks, this is the one place I can do whatever I want. So that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

Look forward to this new page in the very near future!

Leave a Reply

