Love Is In The Air

It’s that time again. Red hearts fill store windows, candies are colored pink and red, and flowers that were $10 a bouquet just last week are now $30. Yes my friends, Valentine’s Day is upon us once again. I have to admit I have always liked Valentine’s Day. I still get just as excited about getting a valentine today as I did when I was in grade school. And who wouldn’t? Being reminded that someone loves or cares about you is never a bad thing.

I realized this morning that I have no idea how Valentine’s Day originated. I vaguely remember hearing about St. Valentine when I was young, but I never knew what he had to do with the holiday. So I decided to do a little research. Did you know there is no real explanation for how Valentine’s Day came to be? There are so many different stories and no one has been able to figure out which one is true. Apparently the Catholic Church has three martyred saints named Valentine or Valentinus (thank you History Channel). After reading through the stories about the three saints that the holiday is possibly based on, I came across a wonderful legend of how the valentine started. According to one legend, Valentine sent the first valentine to a young girl he fell in love with while he was imprisoned. The young girl visited him every day and some say it may have been the jailor’s daughter (which is what I am going with because how tragically romantic is that?!). Before he died, he wrote his final letter to the young girl and signed it “From your Valentine,” a phrase we still use today. Can you hear my girlish sigh here? The tragic love stories get me every time…

After reading through the history of Valentine’s Day, I found myself remembering all the great romances like Pride and Prejudice, Gone with the Wind, and all those mushy novels/movies that drive most people crazy. Lady and the Tramp just arrived last night (fantastic timing) so I can’t help but play the candlelight dinner scene over and over in my head as the day goes on… These romantic movie moments have been preoccupying my mind all day long. Indulge me as I share a select few…

“Don’t forget I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.” – Notting Hill

“As you wish.” – Princess Bride

“It was a million tiny things that, when you added them all up, they meant we were supposed to be together… and I knew it. I knew it the very first time I touched her. It was like coming home… only to no home I’d ever known… I was just taking her hand to help her out of a car and I knew. It was like… magic.” – Sleepless in Seattle

Can you feel the love tonight? (oh yes, I just went there…)

Yet, for me, Valentine’s Day isn’t just about celebrating these epic romantic love stories or the love you share with your lover. It is also about reminding the important people in your life that you love and care about them. Valentine’s Day isn’t just be reserved for couples; it is a day to celebrate the love you have for every person you can’t live without. I think a lot of people forget this. So please, take a moment to share today with everyone you love. You may feel like you do this every day, but trust me; there should never be a limit for how many times you tell someone how much you care about them.

To all my special someones this Valentine’s Day – thank you for being exactly what I need when I need it. I cherish you all and you are all in my heart every day, whether you are near of far. Thank you for the joy you bring to my life.

I have been writing a lot about my own resolutions and challenges lately. Now I have a challenge for you. A close friend posted “Love – spread it” today. I feel like I’ve made an effort to share my loving thoughts with you, so now it’s your turn. Share your favorite quotes, stories, and/or memories. I am dying to hear them! Really, I am on the edge of my seat. Don’t disappoint me, ok?

Leave a Reply

