Challenge Accepted

The decision to create this blog stems from a realization that I have somehow lost part of who I am. As I looked in the mirror this morning thinking the same thoughts of how I would love to lose 10 pounds and how I might need to consider a new mascara, I realized that I am at a stand still. I’m in a rut. I once had an insatiable appetite for my life. I wanted to experience life. Now all I seem to do is wait for the next milestone so I can check it off the list.

Before I go on, let me clarify. I am not unhappy with my life. I love my husband dearly. I am blessed with a fantastic family and close friends. I have a job, granted it is a job I am not satisfied with, but in this economy I consider myself lucky. The issue is that somewhere along the way I have forgotten how to take care of myself. One absolute truth about life is that you will always have yourself. And I have shamefully neglected myself for a long time.

I was inspired this morning by MsMorphosis (a blog I highly recommend to anyone). In her post she writes about how blogging changed her life, culminating in a challenge to her readers to join her on this “new frontier”. Well MsMorphosis, I accept. I will take you up on that challenge and I will tell you and whoever else dares to read this, how I learned to find myself again. But I’m not stopping there. Not only am I going find what I’m missing, I am going to do everything in my power to never lose it again.

I don’t know where this blog will take me. I don’t know what projects this will lead me to and I don’t know what I will find along the way. What I do know is that I am beginning a journey and I feel the strong desire to share this journey with you.

With a new found sense of determination and my laptop in hand, it begins…

Leave a Reply

