Sweet Potato Puffs

The good news is, I am finally back on the wagon. The workout wagon, that is.
I haven’t managed to hop on the healthy eating wagon (obviously)…. but I figure getting back to a somewhat regular workout schedule is a HUGE step, especially since it is now dark when I wake up in the morning and FREEZING in our house.
Why do men feel the need to keep their surroundings below zero degrees? As soon as I step in the house, I am forced to throw on several layers including a sweatshirt and wrapping myself in the most snuggly blanket I own (from Costco, seriously why is that place so wonderful? It’s like Candyland for adults). I think my husband is an Eskimo. Or a polar bear. One of the two.
Is anyone else blown away by the fact that October is almost over? I feel like just yesterday I was getting excited for the beginning of the month.
Now my birthday has come and gone (with lots of fun and celebration and too much food) and Halloween will be gone in a flash.
But what does the end of October REALLY mean?
Thanksgiving is just around the corner.
Thanksgiving is one of those holidays I completely dedicate to my love of food. I am already planning my recipes.
And let me tell you right now, these puffs will be at the top of my list for appetizers. Maybe even dessert. And breakfast the next morning.
These satisfy every savory and sweet craving I have ever had, all in one sumptuous bite.

Sweet Potato Puffs

Ingredients:

4 large sweet potatoes

3 cans of crescent rolls

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp allspice

2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 stick of melted butter

4 tablespoons of honey

1 cup of brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease your cookie sheet.
Cook the 4 large sweet potatoes. Peel and add them to a large mixing bowl. Add butter, honey, vanilla extract, white sugar, and spices. Mix with electric beater for 2 minutes or until all ingredients are combined.
Cut crescent roll dough into 1-1 1/2″ squares. Place a dollop of the sweet potato mixture into the center of the dough. Fold up the corners to the top (no need to pinch completely closed).
Once you have all of your dough filled with the mixture, sprinkle the top with your brown sugar.
Bake for about 22 minutes or until the crescent rolls are a golden brown.
*Recipe adapted from How to Nest for Less
One thought on “Sweet Potato Puffs

Leave a Reply

