Nutella Cups & Birthday Reflections

It’s baaaaaaaaaack…..
I couldn’t stay away from it for long.
Ok my birthday is looming. I can’t seem to stop thinking about it.
The way I see it, there are two sides to my birthday, just like two sides of a coin. There is the side of me that LOVES birthday celebrations, including cake, nice meals, being spoiled by the ones I love, spending time with friends, catching up with people I haven’t spoken to in ages, etc. Then there is the other side, the inevitable reminder that I am, in fact, getting older.
So I start thinking about the past year as I always do. My type A personality practically demands the cataloging of my previous year of life, going through the accomplishments and disappointments and failures, trying to see where I am now compared to exactly one year ago.
When I think about it, 25 was a pretty kick-ass year.
Yes, there were some not-so brilliant moments. But when I take a moment to think about where I was, who I was, exactly one year ago, I realize just how much I have grown. In my 25th year on this earth, I found my passion again for food, writing, and…. life. I created websites (plural, crazy right?) that I spend all my free time trying to develop and improve. I adopted a puppy and continued to fall deeper in love with my hubby.
Most importantly, I can see how much potential I have. And I have realized it is a lot more than I thought all these years.
All this being said, I am pretty sure 26 will be an even better year. As scared as I am about approaching the big THIRTY, maybe it won’t be as bad as I think….
This is what I call steady improvement and enlightenment.
So I reward myself with Nutella. DUH.
Mini Nutella Cookie Cups (from Daisy Chubb’s Tea and Treats)

Ingredients

1 cup butter (softened)

1 cup white sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Jar of Nutella (12 tablespoons per batch)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease your mini muffin tin (unless it is nonstick like mine).

Cream butter and both sugar in bowl until light, smooth and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla until fully incorporated. Gradually add dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda) until all the flour is mixed in.

Roll dough into balls 1.5 inches thick.

Pop them in the mini muffin tin and bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown but not too dark around the edges.

When done, remove from oven and let sit for about 2 minutes. Then make wells for the nutella with a shot glass, a similar object or a spoon. Add 1 tbsp Nutella to each cup – it will start to melt quickly so you can swirl it around and make it nice and smooth.

Let cool 15-20 minutes in tin. Nutella will solidify in about an hour, which then makes them safe to transport!

One thought on “Nutella Cups & Birthday Reflections

  1. Happy soon to be Birthday! I just had mine and I felt the same way! The treats and spoiling for a day helps ease the pain! ;)

    And Nutella should really just have its own food group – I eat it like it already does! Those look amazing!

Leave a Reply

