High School Flashback – Pizookie

I have been feeling extremely nostalgic lately.

This happens on a yearly basis. It starts with me yearning for my colleges years and the blissful days of jobless, college bum heaven. Then I move steadily into a flood of high school memories and as the year comes to an end, I go back further and further until I reach the earliest memories of my childhood.

Right now, I am deep in high school memory mode reminiscing about choir and theater (yes I was THAT kid in high school) and school dances and silly crushes and those few teachers that changed your life more than you realized at the time.

The one food that pulls me back to those good ol’ high school days (“good ol’ days” being a relative term since I block out the teenage heartbreak, the tiffs with friends, and the terrible sense of fashion – not that I have gotten much better now…), is pizookie.

For those of you who have no clue what the hell “pizookie” is, just know that it is a mess. A glorious mess of ooey gooey cookie dough and ice cream.

It is the best mess that you will ever taste.

It has been years since I have actually made pizookie myself. I don’t know if it is because I lack motivation to make it (not that it is difficult, it is probably the easiest dessert I have ever made) or if it feels somehow wrong to eat because I am not 16 years old, hanging out in my best friend’s kitchen surrounded by a huge group of friends, all of us devouring it in less than 10 seconds.

Though now that I think about it, I never was the one who actually made it. I just ate it. A lot.

Nostalgia is filling me with an intense pang of sadness, considering most of those people I so fondly remember eating pizookie are no longer my close friends. I honestly don’t remember the last time I spoke to some of them…

Therefore I must continue to eat pizookie in these nostalgic times as I pour through old yearbooks and watch my hubby roll his eyes as I try to drag him down memory lane with me.

Pizookie

1 package Nestle Toll House Cookie Dough

1 pint Bluebell Homemade French Vanilla Ice Cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Fill two ramekins with cookie dough (usually I fill it up halfway, or a little bit more depending on how much cookie I want…). Bake ramekins on a small baking sheet for 10-13 minutes, until cooked on the edges and still gooey in the center. Top with a heaping scoop of ice cream and devour.

One thought on “High School Flashback – Pizookie

  1. My goodness. That looks amazing!
    Growing up we always had brownies fresh out of the oven with ice cream after dinner…so good. I’m more of a chocolate chip cookie person than a chocolate brownie person so I am all over this. You better belief TollHouse cookie dough is going on my grocery list next week!

Leave a Reply

