Soft and Gooey Chocolate Chip & Pecan Cookie Bars

You know those recipes you find on Pinterest? You pin them and stare at the gorgeous pictures that make you drool but you never actually make the recipe. Instead you pin more recipes and these just keep getting buried under a heap of more newly pinned recipes.

Or is that just my Pinterest recipe hoarding experience?

I have been gawking at this recipe for a while and finally after starting at my new job on Monday I decided these cookie bars would be the perfect way to de-stress. Did I mention how difficult it is adjusting to a new job? It is beyond overwhelming.
These are my solution, my yummy gooey nutty chocolate solution…
Oh and also this music video… because my taste in music is insane and I literally can’t stop listening to this song. I also can’t stop doing the dance. While eating cookie bars. As my hubby stares at me like I am from a different planet.
Just watch it.

Chocolate chips and Pecans Cookie Sticks  (from Buttercream and Chantilly Factory)

Ingredients :

1/2 cup grape seed oil (or any other neutral oil)

3/4 cup packed  light brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup  pecans

Spread the pecans in a single layer on parchment paper on  a baking sheet.

Bake them  at 325°F for 10 minutes, until they are light brown and fragrant. Check the nuts frequently and stir them to ensure even toasting. Cool them prior to chop them. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the oil, sugar, egg and vanilla.

Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; gradually add to sugar mixture and mix well.  Add the toasted chopped pecans and chocolate chips.

Divide dough in half.

On a parchment paper on a baking sheet, shape each portion into a 9-in. x 2-in. rectangle  (and about 1 inch in thickness) about 3 in. apart.

Refrigerate for about an hour.

Bake at 350°F for 20 minutes. (Bake slightly more or less depending on how you like your cookies)

Did you notice how I couldn’t even take photos of these cookie bars without taking a bite? This is a sickness….

Leave a Reply

