Mango Chicken Salad

I have a really weird confession…

I LOVE chicken salad.
I know that sounds strange but let me clarify a bit. I am not talking about the normal plain Jane chicken salad with celery and other bland flavors that has made an appearance at way too many potlucks. I am talking about the chicken salads that you literally can’t stop eating, like my mom’s chicken curry salad that I can eat two batches of in one sitting (with a large loaf of¬†French¬†bread of course). Also THIS chicken salad…
At first it seems too sweet but as soon as you sprinkle a bit of course sea salt on top, the balance of sweet and salty is an absolute freaking miracle. I LOVE the mango basil combination. I would NEVER have thought to put those flavors together. Now that I have fresh basil at my fingertips every day (thank you garden!), I am finding so many more ways to use it.
Is there a basil ice cream in my future…? I think so…
Mango Chicken Salad (from Pinch of Yum)
Ingredients:
1 lb. cooked, shredded or diced chicken
1/2 cup mayo
1 mango, diced (could also be a green mango)
1/4 cup diced green onion or white onion
2 tablespoons sugar
Salt and pepper to taste
3 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
Mix all ingredients except basil and chill. Add basil just before serving.
Serve on a croissant, wrap, salad, etc. Store in the fridge for 2-3 days.
One thought on “Mango Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

