Cookie Dough Bites and a Major Change

Ummm yea you read that right. COOKIE DOUGH. Bite size. Drizzled with chocolate.

Do I have your attention yet? Thought so….

I know I put this whole diet thing on pause a while ago, but apparently that break hasn’t been long enough. Now that my ankle is finally healed, I can at least get back to my workouts. That is, if you can make me stop shoving cookie dough in my mouth for more that 30 minutes. We all know that won’t happen…
To be honest, all functionality has ceased this past week in a blur of barbeques, get-togethers, and overall celebration. Why this ridiculous amount of parties and a packed calendar for the next couple weeks? Well, I am making a huge transition to a new job. At first it seemed easy. But as soon as I put in my letter of resignation, all hell broke loose. I am now suddenly working non-stop and the rest of my time is filled with preparations and celebrations. I don’t think I have celebrated anything this intensely for myself since my wedding. It has been about 2 years since that happened, so I suppose I am due for some fun.
Though this is directly following a week of fun in Mexico which I am still trying to recover from…
It can’t hurt, right? Other than the overwhelming desire to constantly make unhealthy dishes and stop exercising in exchange for parties, booze, and more unhealthy eating…
Seriously THIS HAS TO STOP.
And it will.
One day.
Probably the day I look in the mirror and realize I am 200 lbs…
No really, I am going to stop. NOW….
Let’s just go with next Monday, shall we?
Cookie Dough Bites (slightly adapted from Cooking Classy)

Ingredients:
1/2 cup salted butter, softened
3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp salt
3 Tbsp heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, chopped (the idea is to get them to be about 1/2 – 1/3 their original size)

Optional Topping:
1/3 cup milk chocolate chocolate chips

In the bowl of an electric mixer, whip together butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar and salt until pale and fluffy about 3 – 4 minutes. Stir in cream and vanilla extract. Add in flour and mix just until combine (dough will seem dry at first but it will come together). Mix in chopped chocolate chips. Scoop dough out 1 equal tablespoon at a time and roll into balls. Place on parchment or wax paper. If drizzling with chocolate, place 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips in a microwave safe container and microwave on 50% power in 30 second intervals, stirring after each interval until melted and smooth. Pour melted chocolate into a small ziploc bag, seal bag and cut a very small tip off the corner of the bag. Drizzle chocolate over tops of truffles. Place truffles in freezer for several minutes until chocolate sets and hardens (mine only took about 3 minutes), then enjoy! For more firm cookie dough bites, chill 1 hour in refrigerator. Store in refrigerator in an airtight container.

One thought on “Cookie Dough Bites and a Major Change

Leave a Reply

