A Taste of Summer – Sweet and Spicy Glazed Chicken Tostadas with Blueberry Peach Salsa

Despite the unreal heat wave we are getting right now and the horrible fires plaguing the state, summer is such a wonderful time of year. Pools are open, our grill/smoker is getting used, my favorite fruits and veggies are in season, and days seem to last forever.

Yet my summers have been lacking a certain something all these years… I never knew what it was until I took my first bite of fresh, homemade fruit salsa.

Oh dear lord, this salsa, I mean THIS SALSA, will blow your mind.

I have no excuse for not trying fruit salsa sooner. I feel like I have been missing the true joy of summer for the past 25 years by not allowing my mouth to enjoy this burst of fresh flavor. If I could stop myself from eating it all in one sitting, I would be putting this salsa on EVERYTHING.

When I sent this tostada recipe to my husband asking him if he wanted to try it, his exact words were “OMG we have to try this TONIGHT!” (Ok I might have thrown in the “OMG” for emphasis but he really was ridiculously excited.)

And for good reason because it kicked ass.

This is one of those summer dishes that I would love to make all year round (if only these fruits were in season all year…) and would readily eat every single night. To me this is the epitome of a perfect dish – it has texture, it’s spicy and sweet and savory all at one time, and it makes you smile despite the mess you I make when eating it. The flavors explode in your mouth and in between the moans of enjoyment; you realize you literally have summer in your mouth.

At the very least, you have to try the salsa. Seriously, it will change your life.

Sweet + Spicy Glazed Chicken, Corn, + Avocado Tostadas with Blueberry Peach Salsa (from How Sweet It Is, aka my food soul mate)

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

2 tablespoons olive oil + 1/4 cup more for tortillas

8 small corn tortillas

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup rice vinegar

2 tablespoons barbecue sauce

1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

3 garlic cloves, minced or pressed

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

2/3 cup cooked sweet corn

1 avocado, cut into cubes

Cut chicken into cubes and toss with salt and pepper. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Add chicken and cook until golden on all sides, about 10-12 minutes. In a bowl, mix together vinegar, honey, barbecue sauce, soy sauce, garlic and red pepper flakes. Set aside.

Fry the tortillas while the chicken is cooking. Use a small skillet (just slightly larger than the tortillas), add about 1-2 tablespoons of oil at a time over medium-high heat, then add each tortilla, cook for 15-20 seconds on each side and drain on paper towels.

Remove chicken from the skillet and place on a plate, keeping the heat on. Add sauce to the skillet, whisking well. Let it cook and bubble for 5-6 minutes, whisking occasionally, until it slightly thickens and reduces by just a bit. Add the chicken back in the skillet and toss.

Assemble tostadas by placing chicken on the tortillas, then covering it with a few spoonfuls of corn, avocado, and blueberry salsa!

Blueberry Peach Salsa

1 cup fresh blueberries, chopped

1 ripe peach, chopped

1/2 red onion, finely chopped

1/2 jalapeno, seeded and chopped

3-4 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped

the juice of one lime

salt + pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients together in a bowl and mix. The longer it sits, the better it tastes! Keep refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

