Living Our Dreams or Living Our Fears?

A date has been set. I have officially declared May 26th to be the final deadline for my Buried Truths site. Initially I thought setting a deadline would be a brilliant idea. Currently I am kind of regretting that decision, primarily because it’s feeling a hell of a lot more “real”.
I have been working on this site for the past 5 months. It has become my baby, my child, the thing that my life seems to revolve around (well other than food…). Now there is a hard deadline of when I will be putting my baby out into the world. I have already talked about how I am scared no one is going to care about my little site and no real difference is going to be made in other posts so I will try to resist the urge to go down that road again. Though most of the time I have a balls-to-the-wall-let’s-do-this attitude, those fears are still lurking beneath the surface.
Do I sound like a broken record yet?
Anyway, the other day I found the following quote:
“Too many of us are not living our dreams because we are living our fears.” – Les Brown
Ah how true. This quote always reminds me of when I was young and I thought to myself, “I will never do anything I don’t love. I will not grow up and be stuck in a cubicle doing meaningless work for my entire life. I will pursue my dreams and if I end up living on the streets because I fail, so be it.”
Boy how things change… As you grow up you start to realize that the dreams of loving what you do would be a lot easier to reach if you knew exactly what the hell your dream job was. While you try to figure it out you realize that yes, you really do want a roof over your head and you want to eat three meals a day. Then you wake up one day at 50 and realize, “holy shit, I did exactly what I told myself I wouldn’t.”
I have always been searching for my dream job, looking in every corner and crevasse of my being to figure out whether my true passion lies in medicine, law, theater, music, etc. Though I narrowed it down a bit (definitely not medicine or law), I didn’t have more direction than that. Turns out if you haven’t narrowed this down somewhat, you end up flailing a bit when it comes time to get an actual job.
There have to be others in this situation. People who know they want something more but since they don’t have an XYZ outline, they stay put, don’t push limits, continue living, and find joy in things outside of their job.
But shouldn’t we strive to be happy in every aspect of our lives, not just in those that exist outside of our job?
Think about it, most of us spend 40+ hours a week at work. That is 24% of our week. Since 33% of our week is spent sleeping (assuming you get a solid 8 hours a night), over 50% of our week is gone already. As someone who already thinks there aren’t enough hours in the day, this is just depressing when you think about how many people out there don’t enjoy what they do for a living. That means over 50% of your week is spent either asleep or doing something you don’t like. That’s 50% of your life that you aren’t actively happy and participating in.
I’m sure  some would prefer to stay put in this situation rather than push themselves to find happiness in their work. True, it is an easy approach to life. And staying where they are doesn’t mean they aren’t happy in life. Perhaps some people are happier this way.
Yet from what I’ve learned in my short 25 years on this earth, the easy road will never bring you as much happiness as the challenging road will yield. Now that I know that writing and marketing are exactly what I like LOVE to do (a realization which was only 25 years in the making…), I am taking great strides to change my path. From this site, to Buried Truths, to pushing myself into new projects at my current job, I feel like I finally have some direction.
I am up to the challenge. Yes, I have a long way to go and I am no where near the Emerald City at the end of the yellow brick road (who doesn’t love a Wizard of Oz reference, right?). Just taking these first few steps have turned my whole world upside down and I have never been happier.
So the moral of this exceptionally long post? Every day is another chance to change your path. So why not seize this opportunity every day?

One thought on “Living Our Dreams or Living Our Fears?

Leave a Reply

