Challenge Update!

“People often say that this or that person has not yet found himself. But the self is not something one finds, it is something one creates.” – Thomas Szasz
I know I have been focusing a lot on food and Buried Truths things lately, so I thought I would give you an update on how this whole Time for Renewal project has been going. When I first started this site over 4 months ago (wow I can’t believe it has been 4 months already…), I was in a bit of an emotional struggle. I had lost touch with myself and (finally) realized that I needed a change. It was time to focus a bit more on myself and stop simply drifting through life. So I started Time for Renewal. The site began with the overall goal of renewing my life and recreating myself.

Though it has only been 4 months, I have already seen a change in myself. I have the passion and fire I felt I was lacking. I regained the desire not only to better myself as an individual, but as a friend, a daughter, a wife, and whatever other role I fall into.

Miraculously I have also become a better cook (my hubby will even attest to that! I think he is just grateful he doesn’t have to cook every night…) and I found a passion for cooking and baking that I forgot I had. I can’t begin to tell you the joy it brings me to know that something I made from a pile of ingredients is good, let alone amazing (seriously, those cupcakes I made the last week…. I’m just sayin’…).

In addition to all this, I am hopping on the social media bandwagon like a bat out of hell (Meatloaf anyone? Yep, I went there… And if you don’t know what I am talking about, just ignore me. You don’t want to know…). Working like a mad woman on Buried Truths and this site has made me unbelievably happy. More than ever before I truly appreciate the wonderful people in my life who have been amazingly supportive and who are happy to listen to me ramble incessantly about food, trafficking, and anything else I can capture their attention with for more than a couple minutes.

And now I am going to a retreat with a bunch of other bloggers?! Seriously not something I saw myself doing at the beginning of the year. This BLEND retreat is going to be absolutely fantastic! In addition to working out ALL WEEKEND LONG and enjoying amazing food, I am going to be meeting some amazing people, a few whose blogs I read religiously and love. What could be better than that?

Still, despite all these changes, big questions are looming in my mind… am I “renewed”? Have I been “recreated”? Do I feel I have reached the goal I set for myself when I started this blog?

At this point, it’s hard to tell. In my opinion, I should constantly be recreating myself. There is no real end to this because the end goal is constantly transforming. It’s true, there have been some big changes in my life and things seem to be falling into place. Yet I am no where close to being done with this journey.

I will admit, I am proud of myself for everything I have done so far. I feel like I am back into the groove I used to be in when I was in school. Consistently pushing myself, striving to learn something new every day, and achieving some semblance of balance in my life between my hubby, friends, family, work, and, well, life. I feel invigorated and I have only scratched the surface. From what I can see so far, there’s something beautifully glimmering at the end of this long tunnel. No idea what it is yet, but it’s there so it must be something good. ;)

“Your work is to discover your world and then with all your heart give yourself to it” – Buddha

Leave a Reply

