Flowers, Cinnamon Rolls, and a Change in the Weather

Well it was a beautiful beginning to spring/summer…. And then it got cold and overcast and I hear that snow may appear in the not so distant future. Yes, I live in Colorado and there is no such thing as consistent weather here. Unfortunately, I got my hopes up this weekend and thought the warm weather we’ve had for the past couple weeks meant spring had arrived.

When I saw the first signs of plant growth in our front yard a few weeks ago, I got really excited. When I found out the little green plants were tulips, my excitement grew. When I realized there was a ridiculous amount of tulips, enough to make additional planting in the front yard completely unnecessary, I grew wings and flew over the moon with happiness. The first flowers started peeking out yesterday and I quite literally squealed with excitement as I ran from flower patch to flower patch, trying to figure out what colors would sprout.

Now the excitement is gone and I am right back to wishing I was snuggled up in a blanket on the couch, ignoring all outdoor activities until the warmth returns. I tried to defy the weather. I, very intelligently, walked out the door this morning without a coat, thinking maybe my blatant disregard for the weather report would somehow make it untrue. Fail.

Obviously I need to turn to some happy food thoughts to get me through the next few cold days… Why not Cinnamon Rolls?! The connection between cinnamon rolls and cold weather in springtime? There is none, except that I made them yesterday morning before the cold set in. Therefore I will be hanging on to the memory of these yummy delicious goodies and the warmth that surrounded them until the weather changes.

Crescent Cinnamon Rolls (The Hungry Housewife)

Ingredients
  • 1 tube (8 count) Pillsbury Crescent Rolls, unrolled and separated
Filling
  • 6 tablespoons butter,softened
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
Glaze
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Instructions
Preheat oven to 375. Place the unrolled and separate crescent rolls on an ungreased cookie sheet (one with sides as the filling may leak out a bit as the rolls bake).
To make the filling – In a small bowl, mix together the butter, sugar and cinnamon. Evenly spread the cinnamon butter over the crescent rolls and roll up. Place tip side down on the cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
To make the glaze – In a small bowl, mix together the butter, powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth. Place in a zip lock bag and snip a tiny corner off. Drizzle the glaze over the cinnamon rolls.

(These are so ridiculously easy and delicious, it kills me.)

Leave a Reply

