Project Revealed!

This is going to sound strange but I really miss school. I first started missing school while I was sitting and waiting around at jury duty (thrilling I know, but at least I got a day off work where I had nothing to do but sit and write as I waited for my number to get called). There are these bells at the city and county building in Denver that remind me of the bells that rang at my college/graduate school (good ol’ University of Denver for those of you who are curious). Now I can’t stop reminiscing about how great I felt when I was in school. I will admit I am one of those crazy people who love to learn. I can’t get enough knowledge. I blame my grandparents, on both sides. They were always pushing me to read and learn as much as I could. Of course at first I just did it to make them proud, but then it turned into an obsession; an obsession that I cannot feed enough as I get older. I still read just as much as I did when I was in school but I miss the challenging reading, debates, discussions, and lectures. I miss pushing myself to learn and hoping that the knowledge I gained would make a difference in someone’s life.

Therefore I decided to start a new project not only challenge myself but to hopefully help develop my career goals (yes my friends, this is the infamous project I have been alluding to for the past two months. Are you seeing the heavens open and hearing angels sing? I know I am).

The title of the project – Buried Truths. The premise – shedding light on the world of trafficking and raising awareness. I have always been fascinated by the trafficking world, whether it’s drugs, weapons, or humans. In my opinion, it is shocking how little people actually know about the subject. It is even more shocking how little publicity it gets. Some people aren’t even aware atrocities such modern day slavery is occurring right under their noses. I truly believe that knowledge is power. The more people that know about the world, the better potential there is for the world to see real change. Therefore, to feed my insatiable appetite for knowledge and to share that knowledge with the rest of the world, my new project is born.

As I throw myself deeper and deeper into this project, I promise you will be the first to hear about its progress. Building a site from the ground up is pretty daunting, especially when it carries this much weight for me. The topic is near and dear to my heart and my hopes for the site’s success are quite high. There’s always the possibility that I will fail and that the time and effort I put into the project will all be wasted (refer to my last post, Confessions, for a detailed breakdown of how awesome that feeling is). You get excited, you get tired, you get frustrated, you have doubts, you push harder, and you read and read and read until your eyes hurt. Then, if you are me,  you start adding on projects because for some insane reason you feel like you aren’t doing enough… For example, I will eventually be moving this site off WordPress to its own domain. And then I may tackle another little side project after that to make my life more overwhelming than it already is. The sick thing is…. I LOVE IT. I will never get tired of writing about all the topics I love, from food to trafficking to recreating myself. It’s what gets me up in the morning and makes me want to push myself.

When I get to the bottom of this rabbit hole, I’ll let you know what the view is like! I am pretty sure this is all going to be worth it. If it’s not, *head slams on desk* well, I’d leave now before the weeping starts.

So look forward to the upcoming launch of Buried Truths! That may be a little while so if you can’t get enough of me (you know you can never get too much), look forward to the new recipes I plan to try this week including Cheesy Puff Pastry Pretzels and Lemon Biscotti (thank you Lynne for the recipe!).

“When it comes down to it, at the end of the day, I need more out of my life and I need to push myself harder. And if at the end of the day I don’t have it, then I don’t have it, but at least I’m going to put myself out there. If I fail, I’m going to fail terrifically.” Ali Larter

Don’t want to keep checking back each day for a new post? Click that gorgeous Follow button to receive notifications every time I post something new!

Leave a Reply

